Forums
NautiqueParts.comCalendar Photo Submission
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

electrical/starting issues

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
mutch24 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mutch24 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: electrical/starting issues
    Posted: July-31-2007 at 10:35am
I have a 1977 Ski Nautique with a 260 OMC engine and I am new to CC. It has always started and ran good for me, but last weekend I could not get the boat started. I was not sure of the problem, but I continued to try to start it, tweaking something different each time without success. Eventually, the battery ran out, so I tried to jump the boat with a car by connecting the cables to both posts on the car battery, and to the positive post and the block of the boat.   The engine turned about a half turn, then went completely dead. None of the gauges show anything when the key is in the "on" position. I do not get any noise, click, or sputter even when trying the key.

I could not find any main fuse that was tripped anywhere on the boat. Everything looks normal, like there are no burnt up wires, no smells, and all fuses I could find checked out ok. I recharged the batteries and the blower and horn work, but still nothing on the engine or dash. The battery reads 12.9V on an electrical tester and the connection to the to the starter and relay or sender (I'm not sure what it is) both read at about 12.8 with the key on or off. I have checked the terminals and main cables, but I don't think the connection is the problem because the problem happened so abruptly.